The Malacañang Palace has already released its official list of declared holidays in year 2017. This announcement is deemed timely as the public can now plan their vacation leaves and schedule their trips as early as now. The following are days announced as non-working holidays:

* Chinese New Year – January 28

* EDSA People Power Revolution Anniversary- February 25

* Black Saturday – April 15

* Ninoy Aquino Day- August 21

* All Saints Day- November 1

* Last Day of the Year- December 31

* Additional special (non-working day)- October 31

Meanwhile, the following are declared as regular holidays:

* New Year’s Day- January 1

* Araw ng Kagitingan – April 9

* Maundy Thursday – April 13

* Good Friday – April 14

* Labor Day- May 1

* Independence Day- June 12

* National Heroes Day- August 28

* Bonifacio Day- November 30

* Christmas Day- December 25

* Rizal Day- December 30

Furthermore, the 31st of October was also declared as an additional non-working holiday so as to “ strengthen family ties by providing more time for the traditional All Saints’ Day commemorative activities, and will promote domestic tourism as well”, as per Malacañang.

The Palace also made mention of February 25 as instrumental in commemorating “the 31st anniversary of the EDSA People Power Revolution, which restored and ushered political, social and economic reforms in the country.”Malacanang

Also, employers are reminded to adhere to the salary scheme in force with regard to employees who report to work during holidays as entitled to 200% of his daily rate for the first 8 hours, while those who opted to take the day off are eligible for 100% of their daily pay.

What can you say? Leave a comment.

Loading Facebook Comments ...